The Ten Incarnations of Vishnu

In the Hindu tradition, the Puranas speak of the ten incarnations of the God Vishnu. These incarnations are said to represent the divine help given by Vishnu; they re-establish the Dharma or righteousness, and destroy injustice from time to time, by appearing on earth in various incarnations. Each incarnation symbolizes a breath in which Divine Presence is occurring, destroying the state of waking sleep that man spends his days in.

The first five incarnations of Vishnu: Matsya, Kurma, Vahara, Narashina, Vahama, 19th century, Bombay museum

The first incarnation of Vishnu is a fish, followed by a turtle, a boar, a lion and a dwarf.

The second five incarnations of Vishnu: Parasurama, Rama, Krishna, Buddha and Kalki, 19th century, Bombay museum

The sixth incarnation is a man, followed by four Gods, Rama, Krishna, Buddha and Kalki.

Copyright 2010 - 2021 Walther Sell